Bug 100145 - XQuartz installer shows questionable *install*-related log out message during *update* activity
Summary: XQuartz installer shows questionable *install*-related log out message during...
Status: RESOLVED MOVED
Alias: None
Product: XQuartz
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Installer (show other bugs)
Version: 2.7.11 (xserver-1.18.4)
Hardware: x86-64 (AMD64) Mac OS X (All)
: medium minor
Assignee: Jeremy Huddleston Sequoia
QA Contact: Jeremy Huddleston Sequoia
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2017-03-10 08:38 UTC by Andreas Mohr
Modified: 2019-05-23 18:23 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
i915 platform:
i915 features:


Attachments

Description Andreas Mohr 2017-03-10 08:38:52 UTC
Hello,

I just had an update prompt message shown on Mac OS X 10.10 (going from AFAIR 2.7.7, to 2.7.11).

Everything seems to have gone fine with an XQuartz update, but one thing irks me:

At the end of the *update*-based install activity,
the message box
"You will need to log out and back in to make XQuartz your default X server."
was shown.

This, i would suspect, is rather out of place in my use case since we are talking about an update, not an initial install, where the reason for this activity (updating of DISPLAY variable assignment to related value) presumably does not exist any more,
since the variable presumably already had the exact same(?) content (right??).

This message will cause:
- lost productivity for users
- potential data loss for users (open applications, failure to save)
- nuclear power plant bills ;-)

So, possibly the installer scripting is missing a check conditional to sufficiently (yet still reliably!) determine whether the reason for requesting such a re-login does exist.

If it is decided that adding a conditional is not useful (each additional conditional will reduce processing reliability to some extent!), then at least the prompt message should be corrected to correctly describe the situation:
decide to either
actively detect an update use case, and give extra information in that case, or
do not actively detect an update use case, and give a prompt message which is sufficiently detailed to successfully cover *both* use cases. 

Anyway, at least in a software *update* use case, the message should be improved to mention that this action may not be needed.

Thanks!
Comment 1 Jeremy Huddleston Sequoia 2017-03-10 20:38:16 UTC
Yeah, the text of the message needs to be updated.
Comment 2 GitLab Migration User 2019-05-23 18:23:22 UTC
-- GitLab Migration Automatic Message --

This bug has been migrated to freedesktop.org's GitLab instance and has been closed from further activity.

You can subscribe and participate further through the new bug through this link to our GitLab instance: https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/xorg/xserver/issues/747.


Use of freedesktop.org services, including Bugzilla, is subject to our Code of Conduct. How we collect and use information is described in our Privacy Policy.