Bug 40131 - Disconnnect accounts when we are about to change network
Summary: Disconnnect accounts when we are about to change network
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: Telepathy
Classification: Unclassified
Component: mission-control (show other bugs)
Version: unspecified
Hardware: Other All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Telepathy bugs list
QA Contact: Telepathy bugs list
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on: 41148 38978
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2011-08-16 02:29 UTC by Guillaume Desmottes
Modified: 2012-11-07 14:30 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
i915 platform:
i915 features:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Guillaume Desmottes 2011-08-16 02:29:52 UTC
Once MC will be NetworkManager aware (bug #38978) it would be ace to disconnect all accounts when NM is about to change network. That would save us TCP timeouts and so potential messages lost.

I don't know if NM provides such signal atm but that would be a really useful API to have.
Comment 1 Guillaume Desmottes 2011-08-16 02:30:22 UTC
See also bug #28370 which is about a similar signal from UPower.
Comment 2 Guillaume Desmottes 2012-03-28 01:43:27 UTC
(In reply to comment #0)
> I don't know if NM provides such signal atm but that would be a really useful
> API to have.

I opened https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=672979 suggesting to add such signal.
Comment 3 Will Thompson 2012-11-07 14:30:30 UTC
Making this depend on the bug to behave better when an interface goes down unexpectedly, because that will improve the behaviour when we could have some warning, too.


Use of freedesktop.org services, including Bugzilla, is subject to our Code of Conduct. How we collect and use information is described in our Privacy Policy.